1961 born in Mannheim, Germany 1985-1991 Studied at the National Academy of Fine Arts, Karlsruhe as a student of professors Wilhelm Loth, Michael Sandle, Harald Klingelhöller, Katharina Fritsch, Werner Pokorny and Elisabeth Wagner 1988 Annual exhibition of the Academy of Fine Arts, Karlsruhe, Germany (first prize) 1989 scholarship awarded by the city of Mannheim (sojourn in Krakow, Poland) since 1991 independent artist, lives and works in Mannheim, Germany.

“I love this town. Mannheim has given me a lot.”

1998 Recipient of the Advancement Award of the Ludwig-Roos-Foundation 2001-2003 Restoration and conversion into a home and studio with an artfully designed garden landscape of the Neo-Gothic Altes Pumpwerk Neckarau pumping station (dewigned and erected in 1903 according to the plans of Mannheim’s director of town planning Richard Perrey) in accordance with monument preservation guidelines 2004 The artist was awarded the monument preservation prize of the Württemberg Hypo, the Schwäbischer Heimatbund, the Landesverein Badische Heimat, and the Denkmalstiftung Baden Württemberg for the work he commissioned as owner of the new “Altes Pumpwerk” (Old Pumping Station) Mannheim-Neckarau  2008 „WELDE Art Award“ (recipient of the audience ward) 2014 “WELDE Art Award” (recipient of the audience ward) 2015 Mannheims Cityscape Award (monument preservation award). Since 2004 Annual exhibitions of new Brixy’s works have taken place at the Altes Pumpwerk (Old Pumping Station) Neckarau . They have developed from an insider’s tip into must-see events for art enthusiasts. Exhbitions include, 2004 “Wine Harvest”, 2005 “Roots”, 2006 “In the round”, 2007 “Grow”, 2008 “Beyond”, 2009 “Eden”, 2010 “Seven”, 2012 “Discover”, 2013 “Achtung Brixy”, 2014 “Ten – Ten years art in the Old Pumping Station”, 2015 “Surprise”, 2016 “Tomorrow”, 2017 “ROOM”.

“La Palma has always been a great inspiration!”

Painting and study sojourns in other European countries (since 2003: regular trips to the Canary Island La Palma, where his works on paper, which are part of the “Eden” series, have been created and continued since 2009) and in Malaysia, Mexico and Bali, as well as on the Seychelles and in the United States, among other places.

1961 in Mannheim geboren 1985-1991 Studium an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Karlsruhe bei den Professoren Wilhelm Loth, Michael Sandle, Harald Klingelhöller, Katharina Fritsch, Werner Pokorny und Elisabeth Wagner 1988 Jahresausstellung Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Karlsruhe (1. Preis) 1989 Stipendium der Stadt Mannheim (Aufenthalt in Polen, Krakau) seit 1991 freischaffender Künstler, lebt und arbeitet in Mannheim.

„Ich lebe gerne in dieser Stadt. Mannheim hat mir viel gegeben.“

1998 Förderpreis des Ludwig-Roos-Fonds 2001-2003 Sanierung und denkmalgerechter Umbau des neugotischen „Alten Pumpwerks Neckarau“ (1903 entworfen u. errichtet nach Plänen des Mannheimer Stadtbaudirektors Richard Perrey) zum Wohnhaus und Atelier, mit einer kunstvoll gestalteten Gartenlandschaft 2004 gewinnt der Künstler als Bauherr des neuen Alten Pumpwerks den Denkmalschutzpreis der Württemberg Hypo, des Schwäbischen Heimatbundes, des Landesvereins Badische Heimat, der Denkmalstiftung Baden-Württemberg 2008 „WELDE Kunstpreis“ (Gewinner Publikumspreis) 2014 „WELDE Kunstpreis“ (Gewinner Publikumspreis) 2015 Stadtbildpreis Mannheim (Denkmalschutzpreis) Seit 2004 finden im Alten Pumpwerk Mannheim Neckarau jährliche Ausstellungen aktueller eigener Arbeiten von Dietmar Brixy statt, die für Kunstinteressierte vom Geheimtipp zum Pflichttermin geworden sind: u.a. 2004 „Weinlese“, 2005 „Roots“, 2006 „Runde Sache“, 2007 „Grow“, 2008 „Beyond“, 2009 „Eden“, 2010 „Seven“, 2012 „Discover“, 2013 „Achtung Brixy“, 2014 „Ten – Zehn Jahre Kunst im Alten Pumpwerk“, 2015 „Surprise“, 2016 „Tomorrow“, 2017 „ROOM“.

„La Palma war immer eine große Inspiration!“

Mal- und Studienreisen in das europäische Ausland (seit 2003 regelmäßig auf die Kanareninsel La Palma, wo seit 2009 seine Papierarbeiten zur Serie „Eden“ entstehen und fortgesetzt werden) sowie u.a. auch nach Malaysia, Mexiko und Bali sowie auf die Seychellen und in die USA.