fbpx
Loading Events
Venedig Markusplatz
24.08.2024 - 22.09.2024

Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, St Mark’s Square, Venice

Solo exhibition in Venice

Located directly on the world-famous St Mark's Square in the vibrant lagoon city of Venice, the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana Museum presents the exhibition project ‘At Home Abroad’, a series of four consecutive solo exhibitions by important contemporary artists who, in keeping with the motto of the 60th Biennale Arte ‘Foreigners Everywhere’, artistically explore the theme of foreignness and being foreign.

 

 

Venedig Markusplatz

St Mark's Square, Venice

 

 

The French artist and sculptor Bernar Venet, the German-Czech painter Jirí Dokoupil, the Austrian artist and sculptor Erwin Wurm and the German painter Dietmar Brixy were selected for this international exhibition series by chief curator Dirk Geuer, who is supported by a different curator for each exhibition. As 2024 will not only mark the 60th Biennale Arte, but also the 700th anniversary of the death of the Venetian Marco Polo, the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana with its collection of antique globes and maps (alongside the impressive collection of frescoes by Titian, Tintoretto and Veronese) is a special exhibition venue that perfectly combines both events thematically:

The ancient globes and early maps in the collection bear witness to expeditions to as yet unknown foreign territories with the aim of discovering and mapping them. Like Marco Polo, whose will is kept in the Biblioteca Marciana, the first explorers travelled on ships to discover the then unknown world and to familiarise themselves with the foreign terrain. They were the first ‘foreigners everywhere’.

 

 

 

 

Exhibition project "At Home Abroad"

The chosen title ‘At Home Abroad’ is therefore to be understood as an allusion to the end of the great voyages of discovery on Earth, but this does not rule out a possible new beginning elsewhere - be it in the universe or as an act of creation in the mind. Furthermore, the title also refers indirectly to the famous quote by Marco Polo: ‘I have not told half of what I have seen, because no one would have believed me’. The part that he left out of his travelogues is to be honoured with this exhibition series and filled in with various artistic positions.

Like a researcher who explores and investigates the outside world, artists also explore and investigate the world, albeit primarily the hidden one in the human soul. With the help of art, they too map entire regions of spiritual greatness and diversity, reveal the infinite dimensions of human imagination and make them visible to everyone through the creation of their works. As Marco Polo once did, the artists reveal only a fraction of what their inner eye has seen and present the viewer with a small section of a still unknown, often strange and exotic inner world.

 

Sala Sansoviniana der Biblioteca Nazionale MarcianaSala Sansoviniana der Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

Salone Sansoviniana, Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

 

 

The exhibition ‘Description of the World’ by Dietmar Brixy

 

„The Description of the World"

Vernissage: Friday, 23 August 2024, at 5.00 pm

Welcome: Dr Stefano Campagnolo, Director of the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

Curator: Dr Tayfun Belgin, Director Osthaus Museum Hagen

Venue: Monumental Rooms of the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, Piazza San Marco, 13 / a, 30124 Venice

The artist Dietmar Brixy will be present.

We cordially invite you to attend and ask you to register by 31 July at office@afaip.de

 

Entire exhibition period: 24.08. - 22.09.2024

Please note that during the exhibition period, the historic Salone Sansoviniana can only be reached via the Museo Correr!

 

With the kind support of:

Ministero della Cultura

Biblioteca Nationale Marciana

Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia

Association for Art in Public

 

 

 

Marco Polo's book ‘The Description of the World’

The title of Marco Polo's book ‘The Description of the World’ gives artist Dietmar Brixy's exhibition its name. Like Marco Polo once did for his readers, the artist wants to send visitors on a journey that explores the theme of ‘foreignness’ and the relationship between different cultures and identities.

Brixy's oil paintings from the series of works ‘Happy’, ‘Reflect’, ‘Journey’ and his Tondi, the so-called ‘Bamboo Bubbles’, are presented on seven large display walls. This gives visitors a deep insight into his artistic work since 2020, as well as works on paper from the ‘Eden’ series, which are presented in display cases and thus form the link to the paper-based collection of the Biblioteca Marciana. The highlight of the exhibition is a free-standing, 3-metre-high installation that can be walked around.

 

Fascination for the unknown

The fascination for the unknown, wanderlust and the desire to discover the world have always been central themes in the history of art. Artists have always been inspired by travelling and encounters with the diversity of foreign cultures. Dietmar Brixy is also such a traveller, a seeker. His expeditions have taken him to various European countries, but also to Malaysia, Mexico, India, Bali, Thailand, the Seychelles and the USA. Over the years, he has developed his very own approach to capturing his experiences, adventures and perceptions in his works.

 

Journey, 2022, Öl auf Nessel, 160 x 420 cm, Diptychon

Journey, 2022, oil on canvas, 160 x 420 cm, Diptychon

 

 

Abstract landscapes reminiscent of fictional worlds

Abstract landscapes reminiscent of fictional worlds are central to Dietmar Brixy's visual language. These compositions are peppered with vibrant colours that look like a kaleidoscope. They symbolise the constant striving for the unattainable and the unknown, which prompts people to set off on journeys, to constantly make new discoveries and to accept the challenge of being a stranger among strangers. The multi-layered structures and forms in Dietmar Brixy's pictures immerse the viewer in a world that seems both strange and familiar. It is as if Brixy breaks through the boundaries of reality and captures the essence of travelling and discovery.

Almost unnoticed, Brixy draws the viewer deeper into his compositions, layer by layer. Like a curtain that is pulled aside, the dynamic areas of colour reveal a view of a delicate, shimmering centre. What for the artist represents the final level of design opens up access to the pictures for the viewer. A recurring motif in his more recent oeuvre is fig leaves, which are applied to the canvas dipped in diluted oil paint and later pulled out of the impasto layer of colour. The artist was inspired to do this on the Canary Island of La Palma. The striking elements serve as a representational motif and combine real nature with the abstract landscape.

 

Journey, 2023, Öl auf Nessel, 240 x 180 cm

Journey, 2023, oil on canvas, 240 x 180 cm

 

 

Tondi resemble the shape of a globe

The artist's tondi are remotely reminiscent of the shape of a globe that represents the world as a whole. The dynamic compositions symbolise the growth and decay of nature, its cycles and cycles. Like a globe showing the continents, oceans and the course of the earth's rotation, Brixy's works illustrate the eternal movement and permanent change of life, but also the diversity of the world, the variety of cultures and identities that flow together in a harmonious collage. It is as if the artist captures the essence of the universe and expresses it on canvas in the form of vibrant explosions of colour and natural ciphers. At the same time, these works are closely related to the globes and world maps from the collection of the Biblioteca Marciana presented in the Vestibolo and the neighbouring rooms of the Sale Monumentali, as well as to the circular ceiling paintings by the great Renaissance masters in the Salone Sansoviniana.

 

Tapestry Bamboo Bubble, 2023, Öl auf Nessel, D 180 cm

Tapestry Bamboo Bubble, 2023, oil on canvas, D 180 cm

 

 

Invitation to embark on a journey

Similar to the writings of Marco Polo, the works of artist Dietmar Brixy invite the viewer to engage with the world as a place of encounter, openness and togetherness. In a globalised world in which people are increasingly interconnected, the concept of the ‘foreigner’ and of ‘being foreign’ is subject to constant change. There are no clear boundaries or dividing lines in Brixy's works. Everything merges together.

This representation reflects the idea that we live in a time when the world has become a place of diversity and exchange and the idea of the ‘foreigner’ is visibly disappearing. Brixy's art calls us to question prejudices and stereotypes. It reminds us that we are all part of a global community and that the foreign should no longer be perceived as threatening or hostile, but that the encounter with the other must be understood as an opportunity to better understand ourselves. Dietmar Brixy invites the viewer to see the unity and connection in everything and to embark on a journey that lies deep within ourselves. Through his art, he shows us that the world is a place where we can all meet and inspire each other, regardless of our cultural or geographical differences.

 

About the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

Founded in 1468, the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana in Venice is one of the largest and most important libraries in Italy. Its holdings include important collections of Greek, Latin and Oriental manuscripts. In total, the repository of knowledge houses over one million objects, including incunabula, prints, maps and around 13,000 manuscripts. The library's numerous historical treasures and precious items include the will of the famous Venetian adventurer and explorer Marco Polo and two editions of Homer's Iliad from the 11th and 12th centuries. The library also boasts magnificent ‘monumental halls’ with wall and ceiling paintings by Renaissance artists Titian, Veronese and Tintoretto. The former study and meditation room, where great scholars, brilliant strategists and crowned heads once sat, now houses exhibitions.

 

Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

„The Description of the World"

Vernissage: Friday, 23 August 2024, at 5.00 pm

Welcome: Dr Stefano Campagnolo, Director of the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

Curator: Dr Tayfun Belgin, Director Osthaus Museum Hagen

Venue: Monumental Rooms of the Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, Piazza San Marco, 13 / a, 30124 Venice

The artist Dietmar Brixy will be present.

We cordially invite you to attend and ask you to register by 31 July at office@afaip.de

 

Entire exhibition period: 24.08. - 22.09.2024

Please note that during the exhibition period, the historic Salone Sansoviniana can only be reached via the Museo Correr!

 

With the kind support of:

Ministero della Cultura

Biblioteca Nationale Marciana

Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia

Association for Art in Public

fbpx
Lade Veranstaltungen
Venedig Markusplatz
24.08.2024 - 22.09.2024

Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, Markusplatz, Venedig

Einzelausstellung in Venedig 

Direkt am weltberühmten Markusplatz in der pulsierenden Lagunenstadt Venedig gelegen, präsentiert das Museum Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana mit dem Ausstellungsprojekt "At Home Abroad", eine Serie von vier aufeinanderfolgenden Einzelausstellungen bedeutender zeitgenössischer Künstler, die sich gemäß dem Motto der 60. Biennale Arte “Foreigners Everywhere” künstlerisch mit dem Thema der Fremdheit und des Fremdseins auseinandersetzen.

 

 

Venedig Markusplatz

Markusplatz, Venedig

 

 

Der französische Künstler und Bildhauer Bernar Venet, der deutsch-tschechische Maler Jirí Dokoupil, der österreichische Künstler und Bildhauer Erwin Wurm und der deutsche Maler Dietmar Brixy wurden für diese internationale Ausstellungsreihe von Chefkurator Dirk Geuer ausgewählt, der bei jeder Ausstellung von einem anderen Kurator unterstützt wird. Da im Jahr 2024 nicht nur die 60. Biennale Arte stattfindet, sondern auch den 700. Todestag des Venzianers Marco Polo markiert, ist die Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana mit ihrer Sammlung antiker Globen und Karten (neben der beeindruckenden Sammlung von Fresken von Tizian, Tintoretto und Veronese) ein besonderer Ausstellungsort, der beide Ereignisse thematisch hervorragend miteinander verbindet:

So zeugen die antiken Globen und frühen Karten der Sammlung von Expeditionen in noch unbekannte fremde Gebiete mit dem Ziel, diese zu entdecken und zu kartieren. Wie einst Marco Polo, dessen Testament in der Biblioteca Marciana aufbewahrt wird, waren die ersten Entdecker auf Schiffen unterwegs, um die damals noch unbekannte Welt zu erkunden und sich mit dem fremden Terrain zunehmend vertraut zu machen. Sie waren die ersten „Fremden überall“ ("Foreigners Everywhere”).

 

 

 

 

Ausstellungsprojekt "At Home Abroad"

Der gewählte Titel "At Home Abroad" ist daher als Anspielung auf das Ende der großen Entdeckungsreisen auf der Erde zu verstehen, was jedoch einen möglichen Neubeginn anderswo nicht ausschließt - sei es im Universum oder als Schöpfungsakt im Kopf. Darüber hinaus bezieht sich der Titel auch indirekt auf das berühmte Zitat von Marco Polo: „Ich habe nicht die Hälfte von dem erzählt, was ich gesehen habe, weil mir niemand geglaubt hätte“. Der Teil, den er in seinen Reiseberichten ausgelassen hat, soll mit dieser Ausstellungsreihe gewürdigt und mit verschiedenen künstlerischen Positionen aufgefüllt werden.

Wie ein Forscher, der die äußere Welt erkundet und erforscht, erkunden und erforschen auch Künstler die Welt, wenn auch vor allem die verborgene in der menschlichen Seele. Auch sie kartografieren mit Hilfe der Kunst ganze Landstriche geistiger Größe und Vielfalt, zeigen die unendlichen Dimensionen menschlicher Vorstellungskraft auf und machen sie durch die Schaffung ihrer Werke für jedermann sichtbar. Wie einst Marco Polo geben die Künstler nur einen Bruchteil dessen preis, was ihr inneres Auge gesehen hat, und präsentieren dem Betrachter einen kleinen Ausschnitt einer ihm noch unbekannten, oft fremden und exotischen inneren Welt.

 

Sala Sansoviniana der Biblioteca Nazionale MarcianaSala Sansoviniana der Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

Salone Sansoviniana, Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

 

 

Die Ausstellung "Description of the World" von Dietmar Brixy

 

„The Description of the World"

Vernissage: Freitag, 23. August 2024, um 17.00 Uhr

Begrüßung: Dr. Stefano Campagnolo, Direktor der Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

Kurator: Dr. Tayfun Belgin, Direktor Osthaus Museum Hagen

Ort: Monumentale Räume der Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, Markusplatz, 13 / a, 30124 Venedig

Der Künstler Dietmar Brixy wird anwesend sein.

Wir laden Sie herzlich ein und bitten Sie, bis zum 31. Juli unter office@afaip.de anzumelden.

 

Gesamte Ausstellungsdauer: 24.08. - 22.09.2024

Bitte beachten Sie, dass während der Ausstellungszeit der geschichtsträchtige Salone Sansoviniana, ausschließlich über das Museo Correr zu erreichen ist!

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

Ministero della Cultura

Biblioteca Nationale Marciana

Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia

Association for Art in Public

 

 

 

Marco Polos Schrift "Die Beschreibung der Welt"

Der Titel von Marco Polos Schrift "Die Beschreibung der Welt" gibt der Ausstellung des Künstlers Dietmar Brixy ihren Namen. Wie einst Marco Polo seine Leser, möchte der Künstler die Besucher auf eine Reise schicken, die sich mit dem Thema "Fremdsein" und dem Verhältnis zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen und Identitäten auseinandersetzt.

Auf sieben großen Stellwänden werden Ölgemälde Brixys aus den Werkserien „Happy“, „Reflect“, „Journey“ und seinen Tondi den sogenannten „Bamboo Bubbles“ präsentiert. So erhält der Besucher einen tiefen Einblick in sein künstlerisches Schaffen seit 2020. Hinzu kommen Papierarbeiten aus der Werkserie „Eden“, die in Vitrinen präsentiert werden und so das Bindeglied zur papiergestützten Sammlung der Biblioteca Marciana bilden. Eine freistehende und umschreitbare 3 Meter hohe Rauminstallation in Form eines Oktagons bildet das Highlight der Ausstellung.

 

Faszination für das Unbekannte

Die Faszination für das Unbekannte, das Fernweh und der Wunsch, die Welt zu entdecken, sind seit jeher zentrale Themen in der Kunstgeschichte. Künstler haben sich immer wieder von Reisen und der Begegnung mit der Vielfalt fremder Kulturen inspirieren lassen. Auch Dietmar Brixy ist ein solcher Reisender, ein Suchender. Seine Expeditionen führten ihn in verschiedene europäische Länder, aber auch nach Malaysia, Mexiko, Indien, Bali, Thailand, die Seychellen und die USA. Über die Jahre hat er einen ganz eigenen Ansatz entwickelt, um seine Erfahrungen, Erlebnisse und Wahrnehmungen in seinen Werken einzufangen.

 

Journey, 2022, Öl auf Nessel, 160 x 420 cm, Diptychon

Journey, 2022, Öl auf Nessel, 160 x 420 cm, Diptychon

 

 

Abstrakte Landschaften, die an fiktive Welten erinnern

Zentral in Dietmar Brixys Bildsprache sind abstrakte Landschaften, die an fiktive Welten erinnern. Diese Kompositionen sind gespickt mit lebendigen Farben, die wie ein Kaleidoskop wirken. Sie symbolisieren das ständige Streben nach dem Unerreichbaren und dem Unbekannten, das Menschen dazu veranlasst, sich auf Reisen zu begeben, immer wieder neue Entdeckungen zu machen und die Herausforderung anzunehmen, sich als Fremder unter Fremden zu bewegen. Die vielschichtigen Strukturen und Formen in den Bildern von Dietmar Brixy lassen den Betrachter in eine Welt eintauchen, die sowohl fremd als auch vertraut erscheint. Es ist, als ob Brixy die Grenzen der Realität durchbricht und die Essenz des Reisens und der Entdeckung einfängt.

Fast unbemerkt zieht Brixy den Betrachter Schicht für Schicht tiefer in seine Kompositionen hinein. Wie ein Vorhang, der zur Seite gezogen wird, enthüllen die dynamischen Farbflächen den Blick auf ein zartes, flimmerndes Zentrum. Was für den Künstler die letzte Ebene der Gestaltung darstellt, eröffnet dem Betrachter den Zugang zu den Bildern. Ein wiederkehrendes Motiv in seinem jüngeren Oeuvre sind Feigenblätter, die in verdünnte Ölfarbe getaucht auf die Leinwand aufgebracht und später aus der pastosen Farbschicht herausgezogen werden. Die Inspiration hierfür erhielt der Künstler auf der Kanareninsel La Palma. Die markanten Elemente dienen als gegenständliches Motiv und verbinden die reale Natur mit der abstrakten Landschaft.

 

Journey, 2023, Öl auf Nessel, 240 x 180 cm

Journey, 2023, Öl auf Nessel, 240 x 180 cm

 

 

Rundbilder ähneln der Form eines Globus

Die Tondi des Künstlers erinnern entfernt an die Form eines Globus, der die Welt als Ganzes wiedergibt. Die dynamischen Kompositionen symbolisieren das Werden und Vergehen der Natur, ihre Zyklen und Kreisläufe. Wie ein Globus, der die Kontinente, Ozeane und den Lauf der Erdrotation zeigt, illustrieren Brixys Werke die ewige Bewegung und den permanenten Wandel des Lebens, aber auch die Vielfalt der Welt, die Vielfalt von Kulturen und Identitäten, die in einer harmonischen Collage zusammenfließen. Es ist, als ob der Künstler die Essenz des Universums einfängt und sie in der Form von leuchtenden Farbexplosionen und natürlichen Chiffren auf der Leinwand zum Ausdruck bringt. Zugleich stellen diese Arbeiten einen engen Bezug sowohl zu den im Vestibolo und den angrenzenden Räumen der Sale Monumentali präsentierten Globen und Weltkarten aus der Sammlung der Biblioteca Marciana als auch zu den kreisrunden Deckengemälden der großen Renaissancemeister im Salone Sansoviniana her.

 

Tapestry Bamboo Bubble, 2023, Öl auf Nessel, D 180 cm

Tapestry Bamboo Bubble, 2023, Öl auf Nessel, D 180 cm

 

 

Einladung sich auf eine Reise zu begeben

Ähnlich wie die Schriften Marco Polos laden die Werke des Künstlers Dietmar Brixy den Betrachter ein, sich mit der Welt als einem Ort der Begegnung, der Offenheit und des Miteinanders auseinanderzusetzen. In einer globalisierten Welt, in der die Menschen immer stärker miteinander verbunden sind, wird das Konzept des „Fremden“ und des „fremd sein" einem ständigen Wandel unterzogen. In Brixys Werken gibt es keine klaren Grenzen oder Trennlinien. Alles verschmilzt miteinander.

Diese Darstellung spiegelt die Idee wider, dass wir in einer Zeit leben, in der die Welt zu einem Ort der Vielfalt und des Austauschs geworden ist und die Vorstellung des „Fremden“ zusehends verschwindet. Brixys Kunst ruft dazu auf, Vorurteile und Stereotypen zu hinterfragen. Sie erinnert uns daran, dass wir alle Teil einer globalen Gemeinschaft sind, und dass das Fremde nicht länger als bedrohlich oder feindselig wahrgenommen werden darf, sondern die Begegnung mit dem Anderen als Chance begriffen werden muss, uns selbst besser zu verstehen. Dietmar Brixy lädt den Betrachter ein, die Einheit und das Verbindende in allem zu sehen und sich auf eine Reise zu begeben, die tief in uns selbst liegt. Durch seine Kunst zeigt er uns, dass die Welt ein Ort ist, an dem wir uns alle begegnen und uns inspirieren können, unabhängig von unseren kulturellen oder geografisch bedingten Unterschieden.

 

Über die Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

Die 1468 gegründete Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana in Venedig ist eine der wichtigsten und größten Bibliotheken Italiens. Zu ihren Beständen gehören bedeutende Sammlungen griechischer, lateinischer und orientalischer Handschriften. Insgesamt beherbergt der Wissensspeicher über eine Million Objekte, darunter Inkunabeln, Drucke, Karten und etwa 13.000 Handschriften. Zu den zahlreichen historischen Schätzen und Kostbarkeiten der Bibliothek gehören das Testament des berühmten venezianischen Abenteurers und Entdeckers Marco Polo und zwei Ausgaben der Ilias von Homer aus dem 11. und 12. Jahrhundert. Darüber hinaus glänzt die Bibliothek mit ihren prächtigen „Monumentalsälen“ mit Wand- und Deckengemälden der Renaissancekünstler Tizian, Veronese und Tintoretto. Der ehemalige Studien- und Meditationsraum, in dem einst große Gelehrte, brillante Strategen und gekrönte Häupter saßen, beherbergt heute Ausstellungen.

 

Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

„The Description of the World"

Vernissage: Freitag, 23. August 2024, um 17.00 Uhr

Begrüßung: Dr. Stefano Campagnolo, Direktor der Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana

Kurator: Dr. Tayfun Belgin, Direktor Osthaus Museum Hagen

Ort: Monumentale Räume der Biblioteca Nazionale Marciana, Markusplatz, 13 / a, 30124 Venedig

Der Künstler Dietmar Brixy wird anwesend sein.

Wir laden Sie herzlich ein und bitten Sie, bis zum 31. Juli unter office@afaip.de anzumelden.

 

 

Gesamte Ausstellungsdauer: 24.08. - 22.09.2024

Bitte beachten Sie, dass während der Ausstellungszeit der geschichtsträchtige Salone Sansoviniana, ausschließlich über das Museo Correr zu erreichen ist!

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

Ministero della Cultura

Biblioteca Nationale Marciana

Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia

Association for Art in Public