Loading Events
Reflect, 2021, Öl auf Nessel, 160 x 600 cm, Triptychon
02.06.2022 - 15.07.2022

BEGINNINGS

BEGINNINGS

 

More space for even more art

For almost 55 years, Volksbank has been showing in its Weinheim located main branch that it is not only money that it knows something about. What began with around 15 drawings by the graphic artist Gerhard Mehlhase in 1967 is now being taken into a new era with the exhibition "BEGINNINGS" by the Mannheim artist Dietmar Brixy after the customer hall has been renovated and modernised. Although the size of the customer hall has remained unchanged, Volksbank Kurpfalz has succeeded in creating more space with its new concept - more space for consultations, but above all more space for art. Newly designed visual axes, more exhibition space, new viewing positions and a new projection surface for digital art have been added. With his exhibition, Brixy not only enriches the visits of all those interested in art, but adds a significant name to the long list of regional, national and international artists.

 

 

End of Innocence Bamboo Bubble, 2021, D 160 cm in Ausstellung Weinheim Volksbank

End of Innocence Bamboo Bubble, 2021, Öl auf Nessel, ⌀ 160 cm

 

The laudatory speech at the vernissage will be held by Ms Dorothee Baer-Bogenschütz.

Dorothee Baer-Bogenschütz, born in Frankfurt am Main, is an art historian and journalist. She works as a freelance author and art critic for art magazines and daily newspapers, is editor of KUNSTZEITUNG and Informationsdienst KUNST. Among other things, she wrote regularly for the Frankfurter Rundschau for many years, discussed in the context of the "3sat" broadcast series "Bilderstreit". She is a member of the advisory board of the art fair art KARLSRUHE. Numerous contributions to art books and monographs, in addition to lectures, moderations, jury activities.

 

 

Dorothee Baer Bogenschütz

 

 

 

This is what the art historian says about the artist Dietmar Brixy

(Extracts from catalogue „BRIXY REFLECT“, 2021, p.45-58)

 

Fantastical seedtime-markings, a dense canopy of wonders, odes to the Dionysian, secret dabblings in the surreal, playground of nature sprites—or even mood boards for Elvis Presley’s Jungle Room at Graceland?

 

What exactly is it that Dietmar Brixy makes in his sun-drenched studio, with its Gothic Revival architecture and views of verdant green bamboo groves, fig trees, camellias, and rare rhododendron varieties like the Blue Peter? Mysterious metaphors, cryptic symbolism, serpentine beauty? Nature—be it sublimely bountiful or frenetically wild, tenderly sprouting or flagrantly expiring—seems to have an allegorical role in his art. And beyond the purely vegetal, our eye also catches glimpses of cosmic phenomena. Brixy’s paintings lead us into far-off galaxies, no matter which phase of his career or series of works they belong to. They manifest as an outlandish, bewildering but enticing mixtum compositum. They bewitch, beguile, and bemuse the beholder. Why? He steps in front of dream horizons.

 

Brixy plays an adept, deliberate game with the imagination: even if the viewer cannot physically walk through these pictorial spaces, she still longs to do so. Brixy’s paintings are inherently imbued with longing, right down to the most delicate brushstrokes. What is more, they radiate an almost magical, alchemical power. It operates like a promise that stimulates all the senses. Brixy creates images that the mind can lose itself in—a territory where the senses gain ground. Formal appeal and sensual excitement: these things go hand in hand.

 

Brixy forcefully but nonchalantly plays with our rationalized assumptions, well-practiced methods of interpretation, and traditional depictions of nature. His works are never about affirmation or reinforcement; they are excursions into the (as yet unseen) fantastical. In these bewildering paintings full of unearthly beauty and stimulation, leaving any sense of realism behind is part of the agenda.

 

Reflect, 2021, 120 x 90 cm

Reflect, 2021, Öl auf Nessel, 120 x 90 cm

 

Info on the solo exhibition

We cordially invite you and your friends to the opening of the exhibition "BEGINNINGS" on Thursday, 2 June 2022, 7:00 pm. Carsten Müller, Spokesman of the Board of Volksbank Kurpfalz eG, will welcome you. Introductory words will be spoken by Dorothee Baer-Bogenschütz, art historian and journalist, Wiesbaden. Musical accompaniment: Running Five from Hemsbach. The artist will be present at the opening.

 

Opening: Thursday, 02.06.22 | 19:00 hrs

Exhibition duration: 02.06.22 - 15.07.22

Opening hours: The exhibition is open during bank hours.

 

 

Galerie der Volksbank Kurpfalz, Weinheim
Bismarckstraße 1
69469 Weinheim
Phone: 06221 9090
Tel: 06221 9090
www.volksbank-kurpfalz.de/ihre-volksbank/galerie.html

Lade Veranstaltungen
02.06.2022 - 15.07.2022

BEGINNINGS

BEGINNINGS

 

Mehr Raum für noch mehr Kunst

"Seit fast 55 Jahren zeigt die Volksbank in ihrer Weinheimer Hauptstelle, dass es nicht nur Geld ist, von dem sie etwas versteht. Was mit rund 15 Zeichnungen des Grafiker Gerhard Mehlhase im Jahr 1967 begann, wird nach Umbau und Modernisierung der Kundenhalle mit der Ausstellung „BEGINNINGS“ des Mannheimer Künstlers Dietmar Brixy in eine neue Ära geführt. Obwohl die Größe der Kundenhalle unverändert blieb, ist es der Volksbank Kurpfalz mit ihrem neuen Konzept gelungen, mehr Raum zu schaffen – mehr Raum für Beratungen vor allem aber auch mehr Raum für Kunst. Neu gestaltete Sichtachsen, mehr Ausstellungsfläche, neue Betrachtungspositionen und eine neue Projektionsfläche für digitale Kunst sind hinzugekommen. Mit seiner Ausstellung bereichert Brixy nicht nur die Besuche von allen Kunstinteressierten, sondern fügt der langen Liste von regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern einen bedeutenden Namen hinzu."

Volksbank Kurpfalz

 

HIER GELANGEN SIE ZUM PRESSEBERICHT DER RHEIN-NECKAR-ZEITUNG

 

 

End of Innocence Bamboo Bubble, 2021, D 160 cm in Ausstellung Weinheim Volksbank

End of Innocence Bamboo Bubble, 2021, Öl auf Nessel, ⌀ 160 cm

 

Die Laudatio zur Vernissage hält Frau Dorothee Baer-Bogenschütz

Dorothee Baer-Bogenschütz, geboren in Frankfurt am Main, ist Kunsthistorikerin und Journalistin. Sie arbeitet als freie Autorin und Kunstkritikerin für Kunstmagazine und Tageszeitungen, ist Redakteurin der KUNSTZEITUNG und des Informationsdienst KUNST. Sie schrieb unter anderem viele Jahre regelmäßig für die Frankfurter Rundschau, diskutierte im Rahmen der „3sat“-Sendereihe „Bilderstreit“. Sie ist Mitglied im Beirat der Kunstmesse art KARLSRUHE. Zahlreiche Beiträge für Kunstbücher und Monografien, daneben Vorträge, Moderationen, Jurytätigkeiten.

 

 

Dorothee Baer Bogenschütz

 

 

 

Das sagt die Kunsthistorikerin über den Künstler Dietmar Brixy

(Auszüge aus Katalog „BRIXY REFLECT“, 2021, S.45-58)

 

Aussaaten des Fantastischen, Dickichte des Wundersamen, Hymnen des Dionysischen, zum Tafelbild komprimierte Sépa - rées für Surreales, Kulissen für Naturgeister – Dekovorschläge für Elvis Presleys „Jungle Room”?

 

Was produziert Dietmar Brixy da eigentlich in seinem sonnenlichtdurchfluteten Atelier in schlossartiger, neugotischer Architektur mit Aussicht auf sattes Grün, Bambushain, Freisitz, ein Feigenbaumpaar, Kamelien und Rhododendronraritäten à la „Blue Peter”? Geheimnisvolle Metaphorik, rätselhafte Symbolik, verschlungene Schönheit. Friedvolles wie auch das nervös erregte Nebeneinander von Wildwuchs und zartem Keimen und Erblühen scheinen gleichnishaft in seiner Kunst angelegt. Ebenso streift das Auge kosmische Phänomene. Brixy-Gemälde locken in fremdartige Galaxien, ganz gleich, welchen Schaffensphasen und Werkgruppen sie angehören. Sie erscheinen als eigenwilliges, verwirrend verführerisches Mixtum compositum. Sie bezirzen, betören, betäuben den Betrachter. Warum? Er tritt vor Traumhorizonte.

 

(…) Sein Spiel mit der Vorstellungskraft treibt Brixy versiert und absichtsvoll: Kann man auch nicht wirklich durch diese Bildräume hindurchgehen, so verlangt es den Betrachter dennoch danach: Per se sind Brixy-Bilder mit einem Sehnsuchtsmotiv getränkt bis hinein in den zartesten Pinselstrich. Darüber spenden sie fast magische, alchemistisch raunende Kraft und wirken wie ein Versprechen, das alle Sinne anregt.

 

Brixy schafft Bilder, in denen sich der Verstand verlieren kann und die Empfindung Boden gewinnt. Formaler Reiz und sinnliche Erregung, sie gehen Hand in Hand.

 

(…) Brixy jongliert mit unseren verstandesmäßigen Annahmen, eingeübten Interpretationsmodi und der traditionellen Naturvorstellung so nachdrücklich wie nonchalant. Dabei geht es nie um Bestätigung und Verstärkung, sondern um Exkurse ins Fantastische. Auf ins Ungesehene! Diese irritierenden Gemälde voller erdferner Schönheit und multipler Irritation, sie heben programmatisch vom Boden der Tatsachen ab.

 

Reflect, 2021, 120 x 90 cm

Reflect, 2021, Öl auf Nessel, 120 x 90 cm

 

Infos zur Einzelausstellung

Wir laden Sie und Ihre Freunde herzlich ein zur Eröffnung der Ausstellung "BEGINNINGS" am Donnerstag, 2. Juni 2022, 19:00 Uhr. Es begrüßt Sie Carsten Müller, Sprecher des Vorstands der Volksbank Kurpfalz eG. Einführende Worte spricht Dorothee Baer-Bogenschütz, Kunsthistorikerin und -journalistin, Wiesbaden. Musikalische Begleitung: Running Five aus Hemsbach. Der Künstler ist bei der Eröffnung anwesend.

 

Opening: Donnerstag, den 02.06.22 | 19:00 Uhr

Ausstellungsdauer: 02.06.22 - 15.07.22

Öffnungszeiten: Die Ausstellung ist während der Bankzeiten geöffnet.

HIER GELANGEN SIE ZUM PRESSEBERICHT DER RHEIN-NECKAR-ZEITUNG

 

 

Galerie der Volksbank Kurpfalz, Weinheim
Bismarckstraße 1
69469 Weinheim
Phone: 06221 9090
Tel: 06221 9090
Veranstaltungsort-Website anzeigen